Tuesday, July 07, 2009

Just Beat It..

Am so beat right now... that I can only tweet ;-)

RIP MJ.. the Molester Jackson ? We will have to wait until one of the kids grow up and write a book... by then, you may be long forgotten...

Sunday, July 05, 2009

Check..

Hangover - the movie.. check
Pani puri.. check
Sunnyvale Saravanaa Bhavan.. check
4th July fireworks.. check
Red eye to Minneapolis-St.Paul.. check
Subaru Impreza.. check
Extended Stay America, Bloomington.. check
Meow meow.. check!
zzzzzzzz.. checking-in now!!

Monday, June 29, 2009

Bloom!!



Yaay! I will be moving to Minneapolis-St.Paul-Bloomington area. I am pretty excited about this team and opportunity....!!!!

In that spirit, here is a song for Bloomington...
I gotta feeling... this year is gonna be a good year...!

Thursday, June 25, 2009

This is fcuking hilarious..!!



Thanks to Chikita and originally to Ryan Deal !!

King Ryan says "Ahh… the friend zone. It’s pretty much nowhere near where you want to be with any girl you actually like. Being in the friend zone can keep you from the love of your life or at least from possibly some of the best sex you’ve ever had. Here’s a handy chart that shows you exactly where the friend zone is… so you can avoid it."

But there is more to it... look carefully! Like.. null set!!!

Monday, June 22, 2009

First look.. Last glance?!






I might soon be saying 'au revoir' to this lovely city... Never imagined my love story will come to an end so soon.... I had grown so comfortable in its arms.... But its probably time.... to say goodbye.. till we meet again.... Take care my sweet heart...

Wednesday, June 17, 2009

I am a micro lender..!

I made my first microfinance loan today!!

I came to know about Kiva when I attend the TiE conference last month. [TiE - The Indus Entrepreneurs). Premal Shah, who is the president of Kiva, was one of the winners of the top 50 startups award at the conference. And he was also one of the speakers on social entrepreneurship. Man, you should hear him speak... he just is so simple and sincere and straight-from-the-heart and obviously, his presentation touched, and inspired me.

Kiva - the world's first person-to-person micro-lending website, empowering individuals to lend directly to unique entrepreneurs around the globe.

Of course, I got in touch with him right away and it helped that we had a couple of common friends. Well.. thats how Kiva started for me. And I wanted to lend on Kiva, but somehow did not get to it... Until today that is!

I got the tweet last week about a mixer organized by Kiva and the Good magazine in the city. And I decided to attend that. I marked my calendars and worked through a couple of things - one of them being that I should be a lender before I attend the party!!

Of course.. it is fun partying... and if I can mix partying with doing good... Wow! what can beat that?!?!

The party was today (Tuesday) and it was great, but that is another post! This post is about Kiva. And Kiva is cool!!! Check it out!!

You can make a difference to an entrepreneur today..

Thursday, June 11, 2009

Wisdom!

Some wise man said...

Love an angel.. but marry a woman...!!

Thursday, June 04, 2009

Learning from a Fishing Expedition!

The best con — one where everyone gets what they want even if they didn’t know they wanted it!!!

The Brothers Bloom

-----------------------------------

- You need to expend positive vibes during fishing...

- Surround yourself with folks that are better than yourself.. of course, they should not be better at fishing!
-- when going fishing, take with you someone (like 'wingman') that can enhance the energy & can work the waters for ya

- Have three questions to ask the fishes and fellas - simple questions you can fall back on (e.g. is the water good?)

- Keep it simple and genuine
-- compliment the fish
-- appreciate the work of art (every fish is unique and is a work of art!)
-- use positive reinforcement :-)

- IF you think the fish is better than you, then go out of your way to be useful for the fish.. go out of your comfort zone!! (Jump into the water ;-)

Monday, May 25, 2009

Season 2 has begun!!

cross-posted on my running blog

Itz season 2 of my marathon experience... continuing my training with Team Asha...
I did not run at all after the Silicon Valley Half Marathon last year - took complete rest and allowed my body to refresh itself in the winter.

Then I ran the Asha 10K Spring Run in March early this year. That was good. And end of April, I started my second season with the team. The team, coaches, mentors are as awesome as ever. And I seem to be doing pretty well too.. No real pains so far... which is great!

Hoping to run the San Francisco Half Marathon on Jul 26, 2009. And then, I will decide which full marathon to run. My goal is to get to the start line injury-free and have fun all along while raising money to support one of Asha for Education's projects in India.. That reminds me.. I need to select the project too.

Anyways, to Team Asha... may you fulfill more dreams and help create educated children and inspired citizens!!

Friday, May 22, 2009

Events...

It has been quite an eventful week..

First came the news that LTTE Prabhakaran was dead.. It was a little sad. He was a leader for the Tamils in Sri Lanka, but his choice of war as the means to achieve his goals led to enormous destruction. Sad to see all lives wasted including his own.. There is this succinct article in the latest Time

Then came the news that the Congress has won a convincing majority at the Indian Lok Sabha Elections 2009. I think that is a good thing for India - a stable government for the next five years and that too one that is progressive and pro-private is definitely welcome..
If you have not been following the elections, you can read about it here
I also think that DMK party coming to power again in Tamil Nadu is a great relief.. for one it breaks the anti-incumbency voting pattern over the decade or more.. Goes to show that people are not discontent without rhyme/reason.. and I think the parties had also started to take it for granted that they will return to power in alternate cycles, irrespective of their performance or policies or platforms.

The Indian stock market reacted to the Election results with a huge positive surge... for the first time in the history of the Sensex, trading was suspended for the day because the index hit the upper circuit, twice! The index was capped at 17.2% spike.

On the personal front.. quite some things happening.. but, sorry, I cannot divulge more details now.. ;-)

Sunday, April 26, 2009

Earth - Movie



"Earth" is an awesome movie abt an awesome planet... just unbelievable the scale in which life happens on this planet... And of course, they have shown it really well.. If you have not watched the BBC series "Planet Earth" - this is just right for ya!

The movie captures the life and travels (travails) of three families - a polar bear and its two cubs, an African elephant and its baby, a humpback whale and its kid... (Just thought abt this now.. all single moms!).. Not just these three but so many different species on earth migrate covering thousands of miles across earth and back... Is a really staggering effort against the vagaries of nature: climate and seasons...

Anyways.. catch here the trailer of Earth on their official site..
http://disney.go.com/disneynature/earth/



Migration is an interesting concept in animals.. its amazing how they remember the route without a GPS or compass!! For humans, migration is primarily for economic and intellectual reasons now... May be, we will need to start migrating as a way of life... if our ability to insulate ourselves from the effect of climate is bulldozed by our destruction of the equilibrium on this (now) green planet.

Friday, April 17, 2009

Condoms and the Pope..

More on the Pope, using condoms saga!! [Sorry, can't resist the pun!]

Hear, ye all..

The Roman Catholic Church opposes the use of condoms as part of its overall teaching against contraception. It advocates sexual abstinence and sexual faithfulness between husband and wife as the best ways to combat the spread of HIV.

If you are opposed to the church's teachings on the use of condoms.. I have a slogan for ya...

Dear Holy Father... Please don't tell us what to wear..!! ;-)

Slumdog millionaire contesting elections...

Got to know thru Kiruba..

Sarath Babu, the real life slumdog millionaire -- He sold idlis when he was a kid. He worked through the ranks.. and after his MBA from one of the prestigious educational institutions in India, IIM A, decided to set up a food chain. He's now contesting the Lok Sabha elections.

Sarath Babu will contest as an Independent from South Chennai Lok Sabha constituency.

The Royalty...

SB treated me as royalty...!!





Wednesday, April 08, 2009

TGIGF!!

Thank God its Good Friday!!!

Am gonna lap it up @ Santa Barbara :-)

Sunday, April 05, 2009

Sicko - the sickening state of US healthcare

This is one movie that I will recommend every US citizen and especially every non-US guy who is planning to come to the US to watch - so they know what they are getting into...

It is not so much about how 50 million people in the US do not have health insurance and hence do not get any medical care or treatment.. as it is about how the 250 million people that have health insurance might still end up being bankrupt and in turn, be denied health care - because the privately run insurance companies and hospitals look to maximise their profits.. and hence, they will continue to look for reasons and justifications to deny you the right to medical care and can deny or retract your claim!!

And as it turns out.. I had one such experience of it myself... though, thankfully, not anywhere near the scale as highlighted in the movie..

I got treated for knee pain while I was training to run a marathon and had multiple physiotherapy sessions... And since I am an employee of one of the large corporations, my insurance has to cater to the power (read, numbers) of the corporation and covered all my bills (except for the co-pay, that I had to shell out from my pocket).. Everything was smooth.. or so I thought until one fine day, when I got a bill from the hospital saying I owed them some money. Not much, $135, that my insurance company asked the hospital to refund (it had earlier paid to the hospital). So, the hospital billed me for $135, saying I need to pay for it now.

When I called up, neither the hospital nor the insurance had any clue why suddenly the insurance provider asked the hospital for the refund. After a couple of weeks of investigation, the insurance provider found out and informed me (and the hospital) that the hospital had used a wrong code in billing and that is why this $135 was asked to be refunded and is now outstanding. So, now if the hospital can reissue the bill with the correct code, everything will be fine. To this day, and it has been almost a month now, the hospital still records that I owe them the money.. and I do not know if they care to reissue the bill.. but they sent me a second notice/reminder of due.

But, my episode is so minuscule in scale to what can happen to one if they end up with cancer/heart attack or something.. and the insurance company can deny payment due to some unrelated yet legally arguable reason for not paying up. All they (insurance companies and hospitals) care about is maximizing their own profit and any money they can deny is money saved for them..

One of the folks shown was denied permission/coverage for treatment for cervical cancer.. 'cos, in the words of the insurance company, "you are too young to contract ...cervical cancer"... Or contract rescue workers - firefighters who helped in the rescue efforts during 9/11 were denied insurance (to cover their acute respiratory problems ostensibly suffered from the exposure to all that dust and rubble).. because they were only temporary employees... These are just the tip of the iceberg.. watch Sicko to see the enormity of the healthcare debacle...

That is why for-profit is bad in healthcare..

That is why greed is going to kill another 10,000 uninsured this week... and the following... and the week after....

That is why I will not settle in this country as long as greed prevails...

Did I tell ya I don't gamble with my life.. or anyone else's... ?!

Its no country for old men, dude..

Sicko by Michael Moore is available on the Internet, DVD and TV showtime!

I should add that there has been some positive developments on this issue off-late with the push for single-payer healthcare and legislation to support universal healthcare... But, it is still not a reality.. And what is more shocking is the time it is taking US to implement something that is very crucial to the lives of so many people...

F.R.I.E.N.D.S. Bloopers!!

Sunday, March 29, 2009

Electric Boogie @ Club Earth!!

It is heartening to know that we do care for our dear Earth.. And all is not lost for our future generations..

Earth Hour - Mar 28 2009, 8.30pm to 9.30pm

"The world said yes to climate action, now governments must follow," the World Wildlife Fund (WWF) said Sunday, a day after hundreds of millions of people worldwide followed its call to turn off lights for a full hour.

For environmental activists, the message was clear: Earth Hour was a huge success.

From an Antarctic research base and the Great Pyramids of Egypt, from the Colosseum in Rome to the Empire State building in New York, illuminated patches of the globe went dark Saturday night to highlight the threat of climate change. Time zone by time zone, nearly 4,000 cities and towns in 88 countries dimmed nonessential lights from 8:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

WWF called the event, which began in Australia in 2007 and grew last year to 400 cities worldwide, "the world's first-ever global vote about the future of our planet."

The United Nations' top climate official, Yvo de Boer, called the event a clear sign that the world wants negotiators seeking a climate change agreement to set an ambitious course to fight global warming.

...

For the full report, check here!


These three combo photos show Malaysia's landmark Petronas Twin Towers, right, along with other buildings being turned off the lights to mark Earth Hour in downtown Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia


A combination photo of a night view of the site of the ancient Giza Pyramids before and after switching off the lights for the Earth Hour, in Cairo, Egypt.


The Eiffel Tower is shown just after the 20,000 bulbs illuminating the tower went out Saturday, March 28, 2009 at 8.90 p.m for five minutes.


The skyline of Toronto's downtown is dimmed as many of the lights are turned off for Earth Hour on Saturday, March 28, 2009

Watch this video..!!

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

What time is it?

It is the time to move on.. !
----------------------

Have been staying at this place in Sunnyvale for an year now.. Nice big 2BR apartment sharing with this friend of mine... But now, I guess it is time to move on to the next level in life... Staying alone!

Looking for nice cozy studios in calm swanky neighborhoods...
Well.. of course, staying alone gives a whole lot of opportunities... to ponder and explore and all the good stuff...;-) And I can get serious about owning a pet rabbit now!

BTW, got my parting gift too... a parking ticket.. within my apt complex..!


----------------------

honey bunch and shonu and
and butter cup and sweetie pie
seems a lifetime.. but now
time to say good bye!!

PS: did ya notice the two consecutive 'and's?!

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Two Too Much!!

I came across these two articles in the news today... And I wanted to celebrate the irony!!


Why the Pope opposes condoms

{The Pope said the "cruel epidemic" [AIDS] should be tackled through fidelity and abstinence rather than condoms, and that "the traditional teaching of the Church has proven to be the only failsafe way to prevent the spread of HIV/Aids". }

{He told African bishops that contraception was among trends leading to a breakdown in sexual morality.}

U.S. births set record; 40% are out of wedlock

{- Increases in unmarried childbearing, termed at “historic levels” in the report: The total number of births, birth rate, and proportion of births to unmarried women all increased 3 percent to 5 percent.}

{In the 1990s when teen birth rates began declining, Santelli says “fewer kids were having sex, having fewer partners and there was an enormous increase in condom use.”}


Both are two different contexts - one, in the fight against AIDS in Africa and another, about child births in the US.

But, clearly, fidelity and abstinence does NOT seem to be too popular in the US!!
And does the Pope imply that infidelity and promiscuous behaviour is prevalent only in Africa??

And the sad part is that the message from the pope seems to be blaming the guys with AIDS instead of giving hope to the afflicted. (Who said that all the folks with AIDS in Africa got it only thru sex and with illegitimate partners??)

For ye have sinned... now, come to Jesus and he will absolve all your sins... but AIDS, we will not take that away... Because it should serve as an example for others.. Only then will they be afraid.. and turn to God... and I can give more such speeches...

Disclaimer: I am an atheist and I am especially against any religion that uses an epidemic to further itself!

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Give it to the Kids!!

Your vote (and those of your friends) could win Pratham $60,000 this year! JP Morgan is donating the money to the charity that wins the most votes in its Give-It-Away campaign. Read India is one of the 10 nominees and currently has a small lead over the competition. Voting ends on May 1, 2009. From what I can understand, voting is open only to university students (though recent graduates might be able to vote as well). To vote, click on jpmorgan.com/giveitaway.

Anything you can do to spread the word (emails to friends, facebook etc) and get out the vote would be much appreciated!

About Pratham and Read India:
100 million children in India - one out of every two - cannot read. Pratham, India's leading non-profit in primary education, aims to dramatically improve literacy levels among children across India through the Read India campaign. The campaign has already reached 21 million children in its first year.

For more information, please visit
http://www.readindia.org/


www.prathamusa.org

Join our Facebook group: Pratham (USA)

Saturday, March 07, 2009

Into the Wild

The USP of this movie is that it is based on a real story.. story of a guy who lived in Alaska on his own.. in the wilderness for about 110 days ... and died in the wild tragically - alone and untimely, at the age of 24.

But then, in the relatively short span of life, he had experienced what others did not.. do not.. or even imagine. And lived life on his own terms.

Christopher McCandless grew up a rebel - against what he perceived as materialistic, manipulative and domineering parents. And then embarks on a wonderful journey... after he graduates from Emory University, he gives away all his savings to charity.. He burns and erases his identity - social security card, driver license, all his credit cards... and travels across the country - Atlanta to Colorado and then, kayaks down the colorado river into Mexico and then comes back on freight trains and hitchhiking to Los Angeles.. and finally he reaches Alaska.

He takes up a new identity along the way - Alexander Supertramp.. meets some unique set of people.. And finally in Alaska, he spends some quality alone-time and without any artificial trapments of consumerism. Well.. he lives in an abandoned bus (used by moose hunters in summer) and uses a gun to hunt... but his needs are to the bare minimum... a shelter.. some warmth.. food - small game or fish cooked in the fire, raw plant edible plants etc... some books (that provide him the inspiration, as also the guide to local vegetation.. and his notebook - where he notes down his experiences and learnings...

But, soon the ice melts and the full-blown river restricts his movement... and he eats a poisonous plant (there are various theories) by mistake.. That leads to nausea, weakness, loss of digestive powers and eventually his death due to starvation... The last few days are tragic - he is alone, helpless and slowly treading to his death.. thats when he feels the need for company.

I think he missed most the need to share his happiness and all his unique experiences with someone.. as if all those things in him (acquired and unique) are going to waste with his death... Like a legacy lost.

This movie is a *Must Watch* - but only when you are ready for it. I took my own time, guess about two months since the time I added it to my watchlist on Netflix..

I do not want to live such a life in the wild.. And definitely not the way he did it - without adequate planning, preparation and supplies (I would call it stupid - setting up for disaster in an unforgiving place)... but I sure would like to visit Denali National Park, Alaska sometime.. preferably with another person... not just any other person.. or many... you know what I mean?

It seems the bus can be seen clearly on Google Earth even to this day but is obscured by clouds in Google Maps and most other mapping programs. I did not try it.. but I found this on one of the links on the wiki..

Wednesday, March 04, 2009

Sweet Dreams..!

Like this song.. love the lyrics..!!
---------------------------------------

Sweet dreams are made of this
Who am I to disagree?
Travel the world and the seven seas
Everybody's looking for something
Some of them want to use you
Some of them want to get used by you
Some of them want to abuse you
Some of them want to be abused

Sweet dreams are made of this
Who am I to disagree?
Travel the world and the seven seas
Everybody's looking for something
Some of them want to use you
Some of them want to get used by you
Some of them want to abuse you
Some of them want to be abused

I wanna use you and abuse you
I wanna know what's inside you
(Whispering) Hold your head up, movin' on
Keep your head up, movin' on
Hold your head up, movin' on
Keep your head up, movin' on
Hold your head up, movin' on
Keep your head up, movin' on
Movin' on!

Sweet dreams are made of this
Who am I to disagree?
Travel the world and the seven seas
Everybody's looking for something
Some of them want to use you
Some of them want to get used by you
Some of them want to abuse you
Some of them want to be abused

I'm gonna use you and abuse you
I'm gonna know what's inside
Gonna use you and abuse you
I'm gonna know what's inside you

Thriller - ala Indian Michael Jackson!

This is roll-on-the-floor stuff...!! Pay close attention to the audio visual cues...:-)

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Sunday, February 22, 2009

OSCARS 2009..

This post summarizes my "live"r updates on Twitter...http://twitter.com/sbhaskar77

Freida Pinto is looking great in blue... Natalie Portman is gorgeous... Anne Hathaway serene!!

The show has just begun.. it seems the year of slumdogs all the way...... and this just the beginning of the show... way to go.

I dont remember if I watched the event last year... but this year there seems a lot more personal touch at the show probably in tune with the need of the hour... with everyone needing a good hug and a warm shoulder.

First oscar of 2009... best actress in a suppporting role.... Penelope Cruz!! ...for vicky christina barcelona..

Oscars for screenplay: original - Milk, Adapted - Slumdog Millionaire!!!
Best Animated Movie - Wall-E
Art Direction - Duchess
Makeup - Curious case of Benjamin Button
Cinematography - Slumdog again..!!!

Best actor in a supporting role - Heath Ledger in the Dark Knight

Smile Pinki - Best short documentary film... Is also based in India... Its about treating children with cleft upper lips.. watch it. I just watched the trailer in the Ad break.

Visual effects - Curious case of Benjamin Button
Sound editing - Dark Knight
Sound Mixing - Slumdog again again !!
Editing - Slumdog again again again !!!!

Wow!! the count is four now... slumdog.. four of five...you are five questions away from becoming a millionaire ;-)

This is something I have to mention... I see Danny Boyle whenever one of the guys (from Slumdog) are called out.. and he is so genuinely happy 4 them..

The 81st Academy Award continues...

Original score - AR Rahman - Slumdog Milionaire...
At the end of his acceptance speech he said, as he does.. "Ellapughazum Iraivanukkae"... All praise for the Lord!!

BTW, that is also the title of one of ARR's songs that I love..

That was a good performance... of the songs - O Sayya and Jai Ho and one from Wall-E.... and the academy award for the best song goes to..... AR Rahman for Jai Ho.... Wow!!!! I am super thrilled!!!!! Thank God for ARR.

Liam Neeson and Feida Pinto on the stage to present the award for the Best Foreign Language Film - The award goes to Departures (Japanese).

Best Directing - Danny Boyle!!!!! "Finally, to all the folks in Mumbai who helped make this movie and who didnt.. You dwarf even this guy (The Oscar award)" says Danny.. I love this guy.. Love you Danny!!!

Best actress in a leading role - Kate Winslet for Reader...you guys if you are not watching this.. catch the video on youtube or something - gotta watch all this real drama... Really!

Best actor in a leading role - Sean Penn for Milk.. I gotta watch this movie

Best Picture - among Benjamin Button, Frost/Nixon, Milk, Reader and Slumdog - Slumdog Millionaire. The entire team of Slumdog are on the stage... this is great!!

Thats eight Academy Awards for Slumdog Millionaire... Bravo!!! it is a whole lot of awards and recognition... well deserved... have fun guys, everyone!!!

Thursday, February 19, 2009

Till Death Do Us...

I don't believe in V day... I never imagined I will find a true love on the same day!

On a lonely mountain top, down the soft fluffy snow starting our journey together...









Monday, February 09, 2009

Howiwish I was in Bangalore for V-Day...

What can be more fun than a bunch of bloggers and some head-banging musik?? Well, of course.. a head-banging bunch of bloggers... ;-)

It's the first heavy metal blogger meet - and it comes a day before Iron Maiden rocks Bangalore.

When?
Somewhere in time (or)
22, Acacia Avenue (or)
On the seventh day of the seventh year (or)
Saturday, 14th February 2009 at 4:00 PM

Where?
Purgatory (or)
Sanctuary (or)
Mother Russia (or)
Stones Pub, Indira Nagar, Bangalore

What’s the plan?
Run to the hills (or)
Remember Tomorrow (or)
Die with our boots on (or)
Have a few beers, listen to some Maiden, and talk about blogging!

If you are an indiblogger:
RSVP at the official meet page, where you will find a link at the top-right to confirm your attendance:

http://www.indiblogger.in/bloggermeet.php?id=24

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Tolerance is our middle name

Saw the movie slumdog millionaire two days ago.... lovely movie... will watch it again in the theatre soon.

I guess I have not seen many a movie that depicts poverty as the background.. I have seen 'city of god' and that has ghetto in the background.. but not many others. And especially not many Indian movies - I can recall a couple of Kamal's (tamil) movies that had the poverty portrayed eloquently - varumaiyin niram sivappu, some aspects in mahanadi, nayagan... but they are only a handful.

Well, that's OK... movies are primarily a means of escape from reality for all of us at most times. But, I say - don't criticize movies like slumdog saying they are a foreigner's view of India.

Poverty is as much an aspect of India as its elephants, cows on the road, palaces, BPOs - call centers, music, sandalwood, etc. I think India is a land of contrasts - much more than any other place in the world. I need another post to talk about this, but let me stick to my original topic here...

Depicting poverty as the shade of India is OK - 'cos there are 100s of movies that are an escape from reality, with its song and dance, with its own style and panache.

Depicting poverty as the shade of India is welcome - 'cos I think we Indians have become insensitive to it. Our tolerance for poverty and the inequalities we see around us has increased so much that we are numb to it. Tolerance is our middle name. O.K. are our initials.

According to wiki, "41.6% of its population is living below the new international poverty line of $1.25 (PPP) per day" and "The World Bank further estimates that a third of the global poor now reside in India"

It seems worse than what I expected - goes to say how much I actually knew about India. Check this wiki to know the facts.

There seems to be some encouraging news, though not enough...

"{Despite this,} India currently adds 40 million people to its middle class every year. Analysts such as the founder of "Forecasting International", Marvin J. Cetron writes that an estimated 300 million Indians now belong to the middle class; one-third of them have emerged from poverty in the last ten years. At the current rate of growth, a majority of Indians will be middle-class by 2025. Literacy rates have risen from 52 percent to 65 percent in the same period."

It also says this as one of the cultural reasons for poverty -

"The caste system, under which hundreds of millions of Indians were kept away from educational, ownership, and employment opportunities, and subjected to violence for "getting out of line." British rulers encouraged caste privileges and customs, at least before the 20th century."

But that is another blog-material altogether...

PS: If you want to see how India compares with the world, check this

Some samples..




Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Recession not bad....

Today marked an historic day... as the people around the world have marked. The 44th president of US, Barack Hussein Obama, has taken over the office of the President of United States of America.

He seems to be heading in the general right direction.. he has his priorities right and his head square on his shoulders. Everyone is looking to him to lead the US and the world into another golden era.

But, you know - at the overall level, recession may not be all that bad. Well, except for the folks that are below the middle class and/or have been out of job for a while.

Having a person like Obama at the head, hopefully will give us the strength and guidance to take a hard look at our consumerist ways and wasteful ways of the spending cycle.

Here is something I had blogged out some months ago.
The Story of Stuff by Annie Leonard
It is a time to remind ourselves on some truths about our way of living and the destructive cycle of consumption.

Hope things get better - and not just temporarily.

Friday, January 09, 2009

Diamond 2009!

Well... some people seldom change....
no... a correction....'people seldom change'

some may try really hard to change...
and some may try really hard to change others..
but, people seldom change
-----------------------------

I want to hit the gym... but I have been working long hours.. really long hours the past few weeks and months... I had a good vacation at Vegas for new years... but, now I am back to the grind... And the same long hours...

Well, here is what I am planning to do this year... find a good reason to hit the gym... or find a gym with a good enough, spirited pack of babes.. and then, things will follow..

Anyway, things don't change overnight.. things are going to be hectic for a long time.. But then, "pressure maketh a diamond", right?!

Sunday, December 21, 2008

The One With The Boobies

Some good old F.R.I.E.N.D.S.

Enjoy!!!
-----------------------------------

Chandler accidentally walks in on Rachel after a shower and sees her breasts, leading to a series of shower peepings. Phoebe's new psychiatrist boyfriend, Roger, depresses and angers everyone. Joey finds out his dad has been having an affair with Ronni, a pet mortician, for six years; he insists his dad either break it off or confess, but it turns out his mom already knew--and didn't want it to stop.


The one where they said....
Ross: Wha... what were you doing seeing her boobies?
Chandler: It was an accident. Not like I was across the street with a telescope and a box of donuts.
Chandler: You know, I don't know why you're so embarrassed. They were very nice boobies.
Rachel: Nice? They were nice? I mean, that's it? I mean, mittens are nice.
Chandler: Okay... rock... hard place... me.

Ross: All right, all right. We're all adults here. There's only one way to resolve this. Since you saw her boobies, I think you're gonna have to show her your pee-pee.
Chandler: You know, I don't see that happening?
Rachel: C'mon, he's right. Tit for tat.
Chandler: Well, I'm not showing you my tat.


.............

.....


Mr. Tribbiani: You're gonna keep an eye on us?
Joey: That's right, mister! And I don't care how old you are, as long as you're under my roof you're gonna live by my rules. And that means no sleeping with your girlfriend.
Ronni: Wow, he's strict.

Chandler: C'mon, I'll show you to my room. That sounds so weird when it's not followed by, "No thanks, it's late."

Chandler: Hey, Kicky! What are you doing?
Joey: Just trying to get comfortable. I can't sleep in my underwear.
Chandler: Well you're gonna.


Joey: I've been thinking, ya know, about how I'm always seeing girls on top of girls?
Chandler: Are they end to end, or tall like pancakes?

Chandler: Hey, you're not him. You're you. When they were all over you to go into your father's pipe-fitting business, did you cave?
Joey: No.
Chandler: No. You decided to go into the out-of-work actor business. Now that wasn't easy, but you did it! And I'd like to believe that when the right woman comes along, you will have the courage and the guts to say, "No thanks, I'm married."

http://www.friends-tv.org/zz113.html

Monday, December 15, 2008

Quiz time..

Once there was a mid-wife
that lead a boring life!

1. What profession does this person belong to:
scientist one day, weatherman the other
milkman one day, mechanic the other!







Answer: A farmer!
2. Which of the following jobs is the best job and which is the worst?
a. Mid-wife
b. Elephant caretaker
c. Farmer
d. Investment banker (in NY.. should I be even more specific? ok, ex-Lehman)




Answer: Worst job is the one that you are not inspired to do, best job the one that inspires you!!

Friday, December 05, 2008

Bay area in the movies...



You can see a lot of San Francisco in this song...Adiyae Kolluthe.. from Vaaranam Aayiram... the new Surya Sameera starrer.

But, I dont plan on watching the movie... no great reviews...

Saturday, November 22, 2008

Moments of Truth.. Vol 1

Hey Girl, Is he everything you wanted in a man?

You know I gave you the world; You had me in the palm of your hand. So why your love went away - I just can't seem to understand. Thought it was me and you, baby - Me and you until the end, But I guess I was wrong.

Don't wanna think about it; Don't wanna talk about it - I'm just so sick about it; I can't believe it's ending this way. (I'm) Just so confused about it - Feeling the blues about it. I just can't do without ya! Tell me, is this fair?

Is (thi) the way it's really going down? Is this how we say goodbye? Shoulda known better when you came around - That you were gonna make me cry. It's breaking my heart to watch you run around; Cause I know that you're living a lie. But that's ok, baby, cause in time you will find (out that) What goes around, goes around, goes around, comes all the way back around.

Now Girl, I remember everything that you claimed - You said that you were moving on now - Maybe I should do the same. The funny thing about that is.. I was ready to give you my name - Thought it was me and you baby. And now, it's all just a shame - That I guess I was wrong.

Don't wanna think about it; Don't wanna talk about it - I'm just so sick about it; I can't believe it's ending this way. (I'm) Just so confused about it - Feeling the blues about it. I just can't do without ya! Tell me, is this fair?

You spend your nights alone And he never comes home. And everytime you call him, all you get is a busy tone. I heard you found out that he's doing to you what you did to me - Ain't that the way it goes - When you cheated, girl, My heart bleeded, girl. So it go without saying that should let the feeling hurt - Just a classic case scenario (and) Tale as old as time. Girl, you got what you deserved. And now you want somebody To cure the lonely nights. You wish you had somebody That could come and make it right. But girl, I ain't somebody - I'm out of sympathy. See...

What goes around comes back around. I thought I told ya!!

Great song - Justin Timberlake!! Thanks to you and lyrics mode...

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

... (Three Dots)

If rich get poorer, what will happen to the poor?

------------------------------------

Chidambaram has asked the Indian companies to keep their prices lower.. and to not cut back their production...

I need to read the whole story, but... how will that work??

Indian economy is in a much better shape than the rest of the world.. but still...

--------------------------------------

US economy, as almost all capitalist economies, are built around consumer spending...

Not just somebody... but everybody in the US economy need to be spending... But how are they planning to increase the consumer confidence when the incomes are falling and the credit is in a crunch??

Tuesday, November 04, 2008

History is made!

One thing is for sure tonight... history had been made!

Barack Obama, the 44th President of the United States of America, will also be the first black president in this country. USA has voted to give him a landslide victory - 338 to 144 and counting...

For sure, this is just the beginning.. there is plenty of work to be done to get this country back into a state of economic, social and political greatness.. a lot of evils and bad practices need to be undone.. but, I believe we have made a start.

Overall, what we need is a sense of reality and a stand for greatness - to believe in the greatness of everyone, not just of a particular skin color or personal alignment. (After all, one cannot have all round greatness when even one section is denied that, can we?)

US has a lot of racists. And I have to admit.. I am racist too... I have stereotypes in my mind... I may not say it out loud.. like that jingoistic racist I met the other day who claimed 'Indians suck'... I have no idea why he said that.. (and yeah, we do suck a lot of things.. you mean you dont?!) and I am not bothered to find out.. But, like I said, I have my prejudices too... but I make a conscious effort to overcome... As I believe, a lot of us folks are making that effort - no matter where we are or where we come from.... And, we have enough problems facing us to make us forget and overcome all these differences and prejudices. So, to a better world..

When I was in Chicago a couple of weeks ago.. I saw a lot of things... and noticed a few... there were a lot more blacks there than I ever saw in NY or even Detroit... but, they were a cheerful lot. I dont know if it was the joy of having a leader like Obama in their midst and making history... But I did sense a clear aura of happiness.

That is the vision I had when I saw Obama's speech tonight on the TV aired from Grant Park, Chicago. A president firmly grounded in the realities and challenges of the times... and at the same time, someone who believed in the greatness in us.. And someone who can call upon that superlative performance from everyone.

Yes we can!!!

Eternal Life!

Javeda Zindagi  I love this song from the movie, Anwar... just melts my heart every time I hear it. (Courtesy: musicmania from ...